Gillespie County (T82) Airport Zoning History

The original zoning ordinance was created by the first Zoning Committee on May 12, 1948 (Members: Fred Matthies, Alfred Petsch, Eric Jenschke, Alfred Neffendorf, and Hans Hannemann). It was based on the original 3 runways. It remained in effect until it was updated in 1979. The Joint Airport Zoning Board consisted of Jack Hughes (Chairman), Marvin Jander, Keith Keller, W.J. Sebera and Curtis Frisbie. The main difference from the original ordinance was that the airport only had one runway. The 1979 ordinance remained in effect until 2021.

On November 25, 2019, the Gillespie County Commissioners approved the process of updating the airport zoning ordinance via a Joint Airport Zoning Board. Gillespie County and the City of Fredericksburg appointed Judge Mark Stroeher, Commissioner Donnie Schuch, Councilman Jerry Luckenbach and Councilman Bobby Watson as the four appointees. The board selected Greg Snelgrove as Chairman. On November 4, 2021, the board approved the current zoning regulation.